help_outline Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
Shopping Cart

News / Articles

Call for DAA Nominations: CALI's Most Prestigious Award!

Published on 2/14/2022

CALI's Most Prestigious and Honored Award

Nomination Submission Deadline is April 1, 2022.

Nominations are currently being accepted for CALI's most prestigious and honored award, the Distinguished Achievement Award (DAA). Recipients of this award have over an extended period of time contributed an extraordinary amount of time and effort to CALI and to the betterment of the professions in the investigation or security industries in general.

The Distinguished Achievement Award is not an annual award and is not intended to be awarded every year. It is an honor bestowed on those individuals who have made their contributions over an extended period of time. Past DAA recipients and the current sitting President of CALI are not eligible for nomination.

Award Criteria
CALI's highest honor, the Distinguished Achievement Award, is open to any CALI member who has, over the years, contributed an exceptional amount of their time, energy, and effort to CALI and to the betterment and professionalism of the investigative or security professions. Examples of the following criteria must be submitted in support of the nominee:
  • Length of continuous membership in CALI
  • Contributions to CALI and the industry
  • Leadership skills and their results
  • Demonstrated ability to work with others
  • Participation in training and education
  • Sustained support of CALI
  • Why the nominee will enhance the continued integrity of this Award
Those people nominating a member should include supporting documentation for the nomination including letters of support, testimonials, and examples of their contributions to CALI.

The Selection Committee for this award is made up of three outstanding members of the business, government, or legal community with no ties to any investigation or security businesses. This committee must arrive, independently, at the same selection, or no award is presented. Neither the nominees nor the members of the Selection Committee are revealed prior to the final announcement.

Nomination Procedure
Any current member of CALI may submit nominations. All nominations should be written in a complete and comprehensive form. Self-nominations will not be considered. Letter(s) of recommendation and other documentation must be included and should highlight achievements and address the award criteria. Nominations must be received no later than April 1st of each year.

Nominations must be received by the DAA Committee Chair no later than April 1, 2022, by U.S. mail to:

Jay Rosenzweig, CPI
DAA Committee Chair
26500 Agoura Road, Suite 102-376
Calabasas, CA 91302

To confirm nomination submission, please email the DAA Committee Chair at after mailing your nomination packet.

If awarded, the DAA presentation will occur at the CALI Annual Conference, which will be held June 23-June 25, 2022 at the Margaritaville Resort in Palm Springs, CA.

Past Recipients of the Distinguished Achievement Award:

Jay Rosenzweig, CPI
Frank Huntington, CPI
Chris Reynolds
Jim Zimmer, CPI
Walt Zwonitzer
Barbara R. Burr, CPI
Anthony W. Perrin
Clarick G. Brown
Mark A. McClain, CPI
Francie Koehler, CPI
Raymond E. Smothers, CPI
John G. Talaganis, CPI
Joseph S. Memolo, CPI
Daniel Y. Jones
William E. Weller*
Steve Butin*
Robert J. Frasco*
Robert C. Wallace, CPI
Eddy L. McClain, CPI
Jack H. Reed, CPI*
John H. Eppick